Latest News

Bill Bodine

William J. Bodine will take over for Stuart Fauber

MaryJane Dolan, Board Chair, has announced that The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation has selected William J. Bodine to be the organization’s next President & CEO. Mr. Bodine is scheduled to start working at The Community Foundation on June 1, 2015 and will assume the position on July 1, 2015. He will succeed Stuart C. Fauber who has served as President & CEO since January 1, 2008.

Mr. Bodine received his Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration and his Master of Administration degree from Lynchburg College. His professional life includes marketing, financial management, strategic planning and relationship development. He comes to GLCT from Centra Medical Group where he served as Director, Practice Operations.

Mr. Bodine has been very active in the Central Virginia community in civic activities, the arts arena and as a volunteer in various non-profit organizations. He has served on the boards of the Lynchburg Academy of Fine Arts, Riverviews Artspace, Sister Cities, was President of the Lynchburg College Alumni Association, and Treasurer of the Virginia Medical Group Management Association.

Old president

At the December board meeting of The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation, Stuart Fauber, President & CEO, announced that he will retire on June 30, 2015. Mr. Fauber became President & CEO in January 2008 after a long and successful career in banking.

During Mr. Fauber’s tenure as President & CEO, The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation’s total assets grew from $21.5 million to $36.2 million. During the same period, total number of funds grew from 118 funds to 230 funds. Under Mr. Fauber’s leadership, The Community Foundation sought and obtained the accreditation of National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations. This achievement means The Community Foundation is one of a select group of community foundations that have met the nation’s highest philanthropic standards for operational quality, integrity, and accountability.

The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation Accredited with Rigorous Philanthropic Standards

Lynchburg, VA – The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation recently received reaccreditation with the nation’s highest standard for philanthropic excellence. National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations establish legal, ethical, effective practices for community foundations everywhere.

“Meeting the National Standards benchmarks is a rigorous, comprehensive process,” said Hugh Ralston, Chair of the Community Foundations National Standards Board. “This accreditation is a significant accomplishment that says The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation has demonstrated a commitment to quality, integrity and accountability.”

2014 Philanthropy

Miller Home of Lynchburg and Lynchburg Beacon of Hope receive Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation Youth Awards.

The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation and Wells Fargo are pleased to announce that Miller Home of Lynchburg was selected as the recipient of the eleventh annual $10,000 Youth Philanthropy Award, and Lynchburg Beacon of Hope was selected as the recipient of this year’s $5,000 Youth Philanthropy Award.


Dr. James W. Wright Elected To The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation Board

Dr. James W. Wright has been elected to the Board of Directors of The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation. Dr. Wright is a native of Lynchburg and graduated from E.C. Glass High School in 1965. He earned his BA degree (1969) from the University of Virginia, and his MD degree (1976) from the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

After many years of clinical work, Dr. Wright currently serves as Medical Director for Genworth Financial. Board members continuing to serve include John R. Alford, Jr., MaryJane Dolan (Chair), Robert L. Finch, Jr., John M. Flippin, William David A. Herrick (Vice Chair), Hylan T. Hubbard, III, Ellen P. Jamerson, Wallace G. McKenna, Jr., Ellen G. Nygaard, Augustus A. Petticolas, Jr., James R. Richards, Marc A. Schewel, Massie G. Ware, Jr., and Charles B. White.

It's Our Mission

The principal mission of The Community Foundation is to enhance the quality of life in the communities served by the establishment of permanent endowments for the cities of Lynchburg and Bedford and the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford and Campbell, with income distributed annually to charitable organizations within the community.

Get In Touch

  •   The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation
      1100 Commerce Street
    Lynchburg, VA 24504
  •   434.845.6500
  •   434.845.6530 fax
  • Facebook