Latest News

Lynchburg Logo

October 11, 2011





Marjette G. Upshur,

Director Office of Economic Development

(434) 455-4491

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Stuart Fauber with Margie Byrnes and Andy Larsen of Lake Christian Ministries


Lake Christian Ministries Establishes Endowment Fund at The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation

Lake Christian Ministries (LCM) provides hundreds of low income families with food, financial assistance, and household items in the Smith Mountain Lake area. The Board of Directors of Lake Christian Ministries recently decided to establish an endowment fund at The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation to ensure that the organization could continue to provide needed services in the Smith Mountain Lake region. The fund was started with an initial investment of $10,000, and each member of the board of directors contributed to the endowment.

THE Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation DISTRIBUTED $1.3 MILLION IN GRANTS IN 2010

The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation recently announced a total of $314,902 in new grants to 61 non-profit community agencies during the organization’s fall cycle, bringing total grants issued in 2010 to $1,366,674. The Community Foundation was established in 1972 and has returned $29.8 million in grants and scholarships to our community since its inception.

Board 2011

Ernie T. Guill, Jr. Elected To The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation Board

Ernie T. Guill, Jr. has been elected to the Board of Directors of The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation. Mr. Guill is a native of Lynchburg and graduated from E.C. Glass High School in 1963. He earned his BA degree (1969) and Masters in Education (1972) from Lynchburg College. Mr. Guill recently retired as Principal at Amherst County High School, completing a long career in public education. Board members continuing to serve include John R. Alford, Jr., MaryJane Dolan (Vice Chair), Robert L. Finch, Jr., John M. Flippin, William E. Gayle, Jr. (Chair), David A. Herrick, Hylan T. Hubbard, III, Ellen P. Jamerson, Wallace G. McKenna, Jr., Ellen G. Nygaard, Augustus A. Petticolas, Jr., James R. Richards, Marc A. Schewel, Massie G. Ware, Jr., and Charles B. White.

It's Our Mission

The principal mission of The Community Foundation is to enhance the quality of life in the communities served by the establishment of permanent endowments for the cities of Lynchburg and Bedford and the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford and Campbell, with income distributed annually to charitable organizations within the community.

Get In Touch

  •   The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation
      1100 Commerce Street
    Lynchburg, VA 24504
  •   434.845.6500
  •   434.845.6530 fax
  • Facebook