2010 Philanthropy

YWCA of Central Virginia and Churches for Urban Ministry receive Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation Youth Awards

The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation and Wachovia Bank, a Wells Fargo Company are pleased to announce that YWCA of Central Virginia was selected as the recipient of the seventh annual $10,000 Youth Philanthropy Award, and Churches for Urban Ministry was selected as the recipient of this year’s $5,000 Youth Philanthropy Award.

The awards were presented to YWCA of Central Virginia and Churches for Urban Ministry during a ceremony at the Kirkley Hotel & Conference Center on April 19, 2010.

The awards were selected by a committee of 22 high school seniors representing 11 public high schools located in the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford and Campbell, and the cities of Bedford and Lynchburg. This committee, along with the Adult Advisors, met several times during the year and conducted site visits on many of the agencies. Twenty-four grant requests for these awards were submitted. This annual program is designed to create awareness in area youth of the importance of philanthropy and service in the community.

The program was established as the centerpiece of the 30th anniversary celebration of The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation. Wachovia Bank played a central role in the founding of The Community Foundation and has continued to be an integral partner in its activities since that time. Wachovia Wells Fargo Foundation has graciously provided the funding for the $10,000 Youth Philanthropy Award.

Listed below are the members of the Youth Philanthropy Committee, all of whom are seniors at their respective high schools:

Altavista High School – Ashleigh Cartolaro & Nick Ferguson

Amherst County High School – Angel Wright & Ross Zabloski

Appomattox County High School – Daniella Gaulden & Benjamin Lawson

Brookville High School – Zachary Tyree & Rachel VanLiere

E.C. Glass High School – Sydney Bolton & Dexter Bowling, Jr.

Heritage High School – Robert (Bobby) Jones & Victoria Meadows

Jefferson Forest High School – Kensley Elliott & Benton Riordan

Liberty High School – Andrew Casey & Trinity Lozada

Rustburg High School – Samantha Blanks & Owen Yancey

Staunton River High School – Leigh Ann Haley & Hunter Long William

Campbell High School – Philip Gilbert & Lauren Jennings

The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation exists to promote local philanthropy and to simplify the process of planned giving. The Community Foundation receives and manages permanent gifts for the benefit of the citizens of the cities of Bedford and Lynchburg and the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford and Campbell. Needs served are broad in scope including human services to children, youth, the needy and the elderly; education; health; the arts; and the humanities.

The Community Foundation began making grants in the Greater Lynchburg area in 1973, and now consists of 157 named funds and an unrestricted fund, with assets today of over $27 million. The Community Foundation currently makes grants of over $1.3 million annually in our community. It is one of approximately 700 such community foundations across the nation rendering a valuable service both to the regions they serve and also to donors interested in the present and future of their communities.

It's Our Mission

The principal mission of The Community Foundation is to enhance the quality of life in the communities served by the establishment of permanent endowments for the cities of Lynchburg and Bedford and the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford and Campbell, with income distributed annually to charitable organizations within the community.

Get In Touch

  •   The Greater Lynchburg Community Foundation
      1100 Commerce Street
    Lynchburg, VA 24504
  •   434.845.6500
  •   434.845.6530 fax
  • Facebook